

Newsletter

April 2015 - June 2016 | Volume:10 | Issue:01

Newsletter of the University Librarians' Association, Sri Lanka

International Conference of ULA 2016

The 8th International Conference of University Librarians' Association (ICULA) 2016 was held on March 9th -10th, 2016 at Jaffna in the theme "Libraries as partners of Knowledge Sustainability." Inaugural Session of the conference was held in the Kailasapathy Auditorium, University of Jaffna. Chief Guests were Senior Prof. Vasanthy Arasaratnam, Vice-Chancellor, University of Jaffna and Dr. Ruvaiz Haniffa, Chairman, SCOLIS, University Grants Commission. Guests of Honor were Prof. G. Mikunthan, Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies, University of Jaffna and Mr. N.T.S.A. Senadeera, Former Librarian, University of Peradeniya.





Mr. S. Ketheeswaran, General Secretary/ULA, had welcomed the professionals to the conference, followed by introductory remarks of Mrs. S. Arulanantham, President/ULA & Conference Chair, who had addressed the vision and significance of the International Conference. Chief guests and guests of honors had also addressed to the gathering.

Dr. A.L. Moorthy, Former Director-DESIDOC and Chief Consultant (Inf. Sci.), BrahMos Aerospace, Hyderabad Centre, India, delivered the keynote address followed by Dr. K.D.G. Wimalaratna, Former Director, National Archives, Colombo had delivered invited address. The ICULA 2016 Conference Proceedings was officially released by Mr. T. Ramanan, Editor/ ULA. The first copy was ceremonially handed over to Dr. Haniffa. Finally, Mr. S. Navaneethakrishnan, Conference Secretary/ICULA 2016 delivered vote of thanks. There were 32 research papers presented under 07 sub-themes.







As a part of the conference, an exhibition named '**Path to Knowledge**' was inaugurated by Senior Prof. N. Gnanakumaran, Dean, Faculty of Arts, University of Jaffna, at the Main Library, University of Jaffna.





ULA Executive Committee for the year 2015/16 President:

Ms. S. Arulanantham

Immediate Past President:

Mr. J.J.G. Arachchige *Vice - President:*

Ms. Shirani Dharmarathne

General Secretary:

Mr. S. Ketheeswaren

Assistant Secretary:

Mr. M.N Ravikumar

Treasurer:

Mr. S. Navaneethakrishnan

Editor:

Mr. T Ramanan

Web-Editor:

Mr. G.M Saman Kumara

Training Officer:

Mr. Sunil Premarathne

University Representatives:

Ms. P.K.S. Manatunga (*University of Colombo*)

Ms. D.N.T. Gunawardana

(University of Moratuwa)

Ms. K.W.A.M. Konpola

(Uni. of Sri Jayawardhanapura)

Mr. P.G. Nishantha

(University of Ruhuna)

Ms. A.S. Rubasinghe

(University of Kelaniya)

Ms. Malkanthi

(University of Wayamba)

Ms. Damayanthi Gunasekara

(Open University of Sri Lanka)

Mr. P. K. C. M. Wijewickrema

(University of Sabaragamuwa)

M KDM H

Ms. K.R.N. Harshani

(University of Rajarata)

Ms. U.G.M.C Manori Samarakoon

(Buddhist and Pali University, SL)

Mr. S.L.M Sajeer

(South Eastern University, SL)

*ULA Newsletter – Vol. 10, Iss.01*Compiled by:

Mr. T Ramanan, Editor *Designed by:*

Mr. M.N Ravikumar, Asst. Secy