

Newsletter

Apr-Sep 2017 | Volume:11 Issue:03-04

Newsletter of the University Librarians' Association, Sri Lanka

National Conference of the University Librarians Association NACULA-2017

National Conference of the University Librarians Association of Sri Lanka was held on 1st June 2017, at the Library Auditorium, University of Colombo. The theme of the NACULA was Information for Sustainable Development. Prof. Lakshman Dissanayake Vice-Chancellor, University of Colombo graced occasion as chief guest. Mrs. M.A.L. Silva, President of ULA and Conference chair delivered the welcome address. Mrs. Geethanjali Ranawaka, Director General, National Intellectual Property Office.



For the first time during the history of ULA, the Conference was held with the collaboration of university Librarians and academics of other disciplines to strengthen the bondage of faculty-library collaboration. Papers were presented under subthemes of Right to information & ICT for sustainable development; Libraries role for sustainable development and sustainability through economic & social development covering wide-range of subjects as Library and Information Sciences, Social Sciences, Management, Economics and Law.



ULA Executive Committee for the year 2016/17



1st Row (L to R): Dr. B.M.M.C.B. Hindagolla (Editor), Ms. A.S. Rubasinghe (*Treasurer*), Ms. S. Arulanantham (*Immediate Past President*), Ms. M.A.L. Silva (President), Ms. P.K.S. Manatunga (*General Secretary*), Dr. C.N.K. Alahakoon (*Vice* –*President*), Ms. Thushara Wanasinghe (*Assistant Secretary*)

2nd Row (L to R): Mr. P.G. Nishantha (Rep.Ruhuna), Mr. U.A. Lal (Training Officer), Mr. G.M Saman Kumara (Web-Editor), Mr. S.L.M Sajeer (Rep.South Eastern), Mr. S.Santharooban, (Rep. Eastern University).

3rd Row (L to R): Ms. H.D.M.Nishanthi (Rep.SriJay.pura),Ms.U.G.M.C.M.Samarakoon(Rep.Buddhist & Pali),Ms.A.P.U.De Silva(Rep.Kelaniya),Ms.A.K.U.N.Kodithuwakku(Rep.Moratuwa),Ms.DGAS.Malkanthi(Rep.Wayamba),Mrs.DamayanthiGunasekara(Rep.Open University)

Absentees: Ms. K.R.N. Harshani (*Rep. Rajarata*), Dr. I. M. Nawarathne (*Rep. Sabaragamuwa*)