

Newsletter

Volume 12, Issue 2, January - March 2018

e-ISSN 2630-7693

Newsletter of the University Librarians Association of Sri Lanka

2017/2018 Executive Committee Members

President

Dr. (Mrs.) Nayana Wijayasundara

Vice-President

Dr. (Ms.) Champa Alahakoon

Immediate Past President

Mrs. M.A.L. Silva

General Secretary

Dr.(Mrs.) Manoja Samaradiwakara

Assistant Secretary

Mrs. Rasali Samaravickrama

Treasurer

Mrs. Anura Konpola

Editor

Mrs. Thushari M. Seneviratne

Web Editor

Dr. Saman Illangarathne

Training Officer

Dr. T. Pratheepan

Committee Members

Mrs. U.G.M.C.M.Samarakoon

Mrs. H.M.P.P. Karunarathna

Ms J.M.S Dilinika

Mr. S.L.M Sajeer

Mrs. A.P.U. De Silva

Mrs. Harshani N.K. Dissanayake

Mrs. Sakunthala Senevirathna

Mrs. Thanuja Ranawella

Mrs. W.M. Thusithakumari

Dr. I. M. Nawarathne

Dr. (Mrs.) Kalpana Chandrasekar

Mrs. Gayathiri Navirathan

JULA Awarded One Star





According to Journal Publishing Practices and Standards (JPPS) assessment report, Journal of the University Librarians Association of Sri Lanka was awarded "One Star". This assessment was done in January, 2018.

JPPS framework provides detailed assessment criteria for the quality of publishing practices of Southern journals. In 2016, JPPS framework was introduced to the journals in Sri Lanka Journals Online (SLJOL). All journals in SLJOL were assessed by International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications (INASP) against the JPPS criteria ranking them into six levels: inactive title; new title; no stars; one star; two stars; and three stars. JULA looks forward to achieving two-star status ...



JULA was first published in March, 1995 by the ULA Executive Committee 1994/1995 under the guidance of Mr. R. Rubasingham, Librarian, University of Moratuwa as the President, ULA. Mr. K.J. Sirisena was the first Editor of JULA.

Editorial Timeline of JULA is as follows.

Volume	Editor	Period
1	Mr. K.J. Sirisena, UoR	1995
2	Mr. W.A. Weerasooriya, UoK	1998
3	Mrs. D.C. Kuruppu, UoC	1999
4-5	Mr. Abeyratne Samarakoone, UoK	2000-2001
6	Mr. J.A. Amaraweera, BPU	2002
7	Mrs. N.D. Wijayasundara, UoC	2003
8, 9, 10	Mrs. C.S. Dharmarathne, USJP	2004, 2005, 2006
11, 12	MrC. Jayasundara, UoC	2007, 2008
13	Dr. Ruwan Gamage, UoM	2009
14	Mr. J.J.G. Arachchige, UoR	2010
15	Mrs. G.D.M.N. Samaradiwakara, USJP	2011
16	Mrs. Sajeewanie D. Somaratna, UoC	2012
17, 18	Mr. Ajantha Dharmarathne, UoP	2013, 2014
19	Mr. Thankavadivel Ramanan, EUSL	2015-2016
20	Mr. B.M.M.C.B. Hindagolla, UoP	2017